Mighty mystery

red mites on pond surface

We went to a sandstone beach today, and I spotted these little guys, very tiny, probably only a couple of millimeters in body length, if that. I only noticed them because of their bright colours. The sandstone formations had little pools, and most of the pools in one area had these in them, one or two of a whole bunch clumped together, blowing around on the surface of the water. My best guess from doing some digging is that they’re some kind of aquatic mite.

pile of red mites

2 thoughts on “Mighty mystery

  1. Hi skahu. I did some looking and I think your right about them being mites.
    They very much look like the True water mite Hydrachnidia if you look here
    lakes.chebucto.org/ZOOBENTH/hydrachn.html

Comments are closed.

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

