The red canoe

red canoe floating in morning light

This is an old beater of a fiberglass canoe locked to a railing along a public waterfront walkway. I will admit to being a canoe snob, having had some experience with them, and it’s not a canoe I would want, being heavy, slow, and lowslung in the water. But I imagine it’s there so that someone can go out to check crab traps in the sheltered harbour, or fish, or maybe paddle to the island across the way. And for that it’s a perfectly good canoe.

Leaving it on the shingle below high water mark has some risks when tides and winds coincide to make things a little rough. The week before when I saw it, it was pretty much submerged. This time there was less water in it, but still quite a bit of beach shingle slopping about inside it along with the water.

But oh my, how beautiful against the morning light.

red canoe and brilliant water

4 thoughts on “The red canoe

      1. There had been many canoes in my country in about 10 years before. But time flied and people changed. Everyday they (we?) are pushed into tearing hurry so that for catching up the speed of life , we left behind /pass / and miss a lot of things- many of them are really wonderful – a canoe for example.

      2. In Canada canoes were one of the main ways of travelling in the early days. Now people mostly just use them for fun (including me). But I think you are right—when we don’t travel slowly we miss so much. It’s worth getting back into a canoe to see the things we don’t usually see. I just wish more people could be convinced that it’s a good idea to travel in some of the old slow ways, and that hurrying isn’t always good!

Comments are closed.

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

