Wild Pacific Trail

Looking out at the ocean on a grey day

So here’s another batch of pictures from my recent mini-vacation. This one was taken on the first day—not so sunny, but very pretty nonetheless.  

sea and rocky headlands

These photos are from a different, relatively new set of hiking trails on the west coast of Vancouver Island, called the Wild Pacific Trail. No sandy beaches such as you find at Long Beach here, these are all rocky headlands and pounding waves.

waves pounding on rock 1

On a nice day it’s quite calm, but these are marketed as a great place for stormwatching, and I can believe it.

waves pounding on rock 2

And I have to say these are probably the best-built trails I’ve ever walked on. (They are meticulously maintained; there were signs of seasonal repair work and during a torrential downpour on one long walk there wasn’t a sign of a puddle, the drainage is amazing. Quite a contrast to the rugged scenery they take you through!

narrow rocky inlet

6 thoughts on “Wild Pacific Trail

    1. Thank you so much! For reasons I explain on my Thank You page, I can’t carry on the chain for awards, and so I don’t accept them, but I am so very delighted to hear that you like my posts enough to nominate me, I am very honoured.

  1. Great shots. Decades ago I worked along this coast, but without the benefit of trails. It was an unholy slog (or really swim) through the salal with hidden precipices and impassable areas. Not something I am up to now, and not fun in any case, so it is great to know there is a gentler way of experiencing it now.

    1. Thanks! I did the West Coast Trail quite a few years ago, and that was rough enough, I can’t imagine bush-crashing through this kind of terrain without ANY trail!

      1. I remember dropping a crew south of Bamfield, my fittest two, to work around a headland that was less than a one mile trek. They were to meet where the rest of us where working all day. It took them 5 hours! They came in exhausted. Pretty much the same habitat as you picture here.
        A few years later I moved my field work to Haida Gwaii. Joy of joys, the uncontrolled deer population (introduced 100 years ago and without predators) has removed salal from nearly everywhere creating a delightfully artificial environment for working – moss and tree trunks. Not great for the environment, but really I could only be happy about it.

      2. I can definitely believe it. And yeah, I know what you mean about salal. A friend and I once took a short cut between 2 trails, which included crossing a big salal patch. There was a stretch of about 100 meters where our feet never ever touched the ground—that’s how thick the salal was. Not fun.

Comments are closed.

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

