What I’ve learned so far

cartoon of cat curling around end of crutch

I broke my leg in 1996, so it’s not like I haven’t experienced a cast and crutches before. I knew what to expect. Except that there were a few things I hadn’t considered, or had forgotten.

  1. Getting around on crutches is more challenging when you are 17 years older, 40 pounds heavier, and gave up weekly whitewater canoeing years ago. My upper body strength sucks.
  2. Moving a cup of coffee from one room to another is such a pain. (This I remembered pretty clearly, actually, because coffee is so critical to my early mornings. A friend tells me that when she broke her foot a few years ago she invested in carpenter’s kneepads and crawled everywhere, finding it a lot easier than crutches, especially when moving cups of coffee.)
  3. Houses with a lot of staircases are not friendly for people with disabilities. (Okay, I knew that already. I just didn’t put together that fact with the lack of upper body strength in a way that clarified just how much of a nuisance they would be. I’m living downstairs for the duration.)
  4. The same lack of friendliness applies to houses with a 100-foot house-to-driveway bark mulch pathway. I’m not going on many excursions.
  5. Even a 5-step staircase is an interesting challenge when it doesn’t have a handrail. I’m doing a lot of staircase crawling on the short staircase between main level and my office.
  6. Our Dog is alarmed by the weirdness of the whole thing and very good at keeping out of the way, but young kitties are inclined to think that there is significant game potential in someone hopping on crutches. No, kitties, there is not.
4 thoughts on “What I’ve learned so far

  1. I’m glad you have been able to retain your sense of humour, Nola. These experiences might not feel so funny but the telling is.

    1. Well, to be fair, it was kitty game sense plus lack of skadhu sense—never stop to pat a cat on stairs and forget which step you’re on.

Comments are closed.

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

