Before the snow

looking down at feet on very narrow snow-covered trail between salal
Feets, don’t fail me now.

Yes, I know, that’s snow on the ground. But it’s last week’s snow, still hanging about and getting a bit grubby. I just threw all my snow pictures promiscuously together, whaddaya gonna do about it?

Anyway. The broken foot has meant I haven’t been doing much any walking to speak of for the last couple of months, but I’m trying to get going again. I have to walk slowly and take shorter strides and constantly remind myself to PAY ATTENTION in order to avoid limping*, but I am beginning to gain back strength and flexibility and what could in the most clinical medical terms be described as oomph in my foot. (I can actually walk down stairs with both feet now, sometimes without hanging on to the rail—a triumph!)

I decided that trail walking is probably actually very good for the foot, as it forces all those little muscles to compensate for irregularities in the ground, so I’m trying to get out and do more of that. Hence these pictures from yesterday’s walk, which wandered along one of my favourite trails (one of the narrow ones) and lasted almost an hour. I didn’t cover a LOT of territory, but hey, it was quality.

blurred dog on narrow trail
Fun! Fun! There’s snow! Fun!

Our Dog certainly thought so. He was delighted by the snow and as you can see it was hard to get him to hold still for a picture.

Well, maybe one.

handsome golden retriever on trail
What a perfect day for a walk!

* Who am I fooling? I limp.

2 thoughts on “Before the snow

  1. I’m pleased that you are recovering from your injury. It must seem like a very long time to have to worry about it.

    1. Thank you! It seems to go on and on, but I just keep reminding myself how much quicker it’s healing that my leg did years ago when I broke that.

Comments are closed.

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

