Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Mm, this has been a particularly juicy week. Have fun.

…Oh look, a bunch more since I thought I had finished the list. I blame this on Going Out to Eat; we decided we were bored with the prospects at home and went out for dinner. As we live on a small island with only four (? it’s seasonal) options for eating out in the evening, this made our excursion predictable, but we lucked into Chinese Food night at Robert’s, which was yummy, and followed it up with, in my case, crème brulé, and then I had to also help finish the rice crispie square slathered in whipped cream and strawberries, difficult but of course it was My Duty. Likely it will be 4 am* before I descend from the sugar high and get to bed.

And then there was the IPA I started with, and, well, I finished catching up with my Twitter feed while we were out** and there you are.

* I made it by midnight.

** Some day I shall blog about how we discovered, as relatively new lovers, that what we both REALLY wanted to do when eating a meal together was Read a Book and knew we were meant for each other.

Socio-political commentary

No One Will Explain™

This tweet made me laugh and laugh. It’s the perfect response to someone who complains that No One Will Explain (About Anything). “Much of @robboffard’s complaint is that there’s only one person ever that “offer[ed] some good, solid ‘advice to us white dudes.’ REALLY? Because: …”

If you are interested in the background of this, here are more links:

The only possible word for this is clusterfuck.

In which Starbucks demonstrates… well, see for yourself.  (via @tressiemcphd)

In which commentators have something to say (I’m highgrading, here).

In which CBS News Sunday Morning commenter Nancy Giles demonstrates that she has incompetent researchers, and the brilliant Jay Smooth demonstrates that he is a class act.  (via @iSmashFizzle)

*Makes popcorn and waits for more.*

Education

Public Matters: A Response to Kevin Carey. “The massive buildup of state college and community college systems within about a twenty-year window in the mid-twentieth century was a response to a political and economic imperative to open up pathways to the new middle class. They were public responses to a public need. That’s not true of most of the new forms emerging now.”  (By @tressiemcphd, who also tweeted: “The “bundling” that may seem inefficient to high-achieving autodidact is life support system for average student.”)

Survey: The State of Adjunct Professors. This is specific to American conditions, but I think there’s a lot of congruity with the state of contract teaching in Canada, where I work. (via @sarahkendzior)

Local(ish)

Project #12: “Working on the Water, Fighting for the Land: Indigenous Labour on Burrard Inlet.” A beautifully drawn graphic story on the history of First Nations workers in Burrard Inlet.

On hating and kindness

The last year has seen a lot of discussion about online activism and calling out culture; more recently there’s been discussion on its toxicity and what to do about it. A sampling.

Odds and ends

Art + Design

What will that tattoo look like when you get old? Hm… not so bad, actually…

Geeking Out

One of my great sorrows as a game player is that my female Inquisitor in Dragon Age: Inquisition is unable to romance Cassandra, who will shut her down politely but firmly if she tries. (Sigh. Cassandra. Sigh. Er, where was I?) There are a lot of people who feel as I do, which has resulted in the creation of a mod that will, however imperfectly (I understand that the pronouns in the audio scripts don’t change), provide a workaround for this problem.

I mean. Cassandra. Rawr.

Source: danaduchy

Ahem.

There was a backlash against this mod and its creator; how predictable. Bi Cassandra Mod Backlash: The Creator Speaks. I haven’t played using this mod, but I agree with the writer’s pov on this. People’s sexual preferences sometimes change over time, unlike other characteristics of their identity such as race.

And speaking of race and that other mod mentioned in the story: this is Isabela, the pirate captain (who is an absolute hoot to romance, and don’t get me started on the in-game banter between Isabela and Aveline, the Guard Captain).

Source: danaduchy

People apparently use a mod to make her white. SERIOUSLY?

Does this matter? Here’s a very much to the point related article about racial representation in comics: Lighten Up.  (via @MaryRobinette)

Thought-provoking

Literally, I hope. New Alzheimer’s treatment fully restores memory function.  (via @UrsulaV)

Antiwork – a radical shift in how we view “jobs”. “Over a decade into the 21st century, we seem as work-obsessed as ever. Is it time for a progressive reframing of work and leisure?”  (via @al3x)

Useful!

Whoa. Bookmarking this one. Download for Free 2.6 Million Images from Books Published Over Last 500 Years on Flickr. “Thanks to Kalev Leetaru, a Yahoo! Fellow in Residence at Georgetown University, you can now head over to a new collection at Flickr and search through an archive of 2.6 million public domain images, all extracted from books, magazines and newspapers published over a 500 year period. Eventually this archive will grow to 14.6 million images.” (via @ChrisBoese)

On Writing

The Story is a Spell. The Story is a Curse. “Stories can bridge the gap between who we are and who we aren’t yet. Narratives allow us to exist not just here and now and in this flesh but in that possibility space as well; it’s the spell that can change us. You can’t change if you don’t know the magic; how can’t exist if you don’t know how.” (via @Quinnae_Moon)

Quote(s) of the week

I am not generally adverse to being flirted with by nerds. I am adverse to being repeatedly interrupted when I’m reading.

—Laurie Penny (@PennyRed)

People in the department keep asking me how I’m doing but no one offers me bourbon so I’m not sure they’re thinking that through.

—Tressie McMillan Cottom (@tressiemcphd)

‘Won’t someone think of the children?’ ‘No,’ said a brave voice in the back. ‘The children are dull and often covered in something sticky.’

—Mallory Ortberg (@mallelis) (via @hawkwing_lb)

Just cool

Pangur Ban MSS Still in Existence? “And yes, I could go and look up “Pangur Ban” on Wikipedia, but where’s the fun in that? (I usually would. It would be saner. But today I won’t.)” Delightful account of doing online research, with side excursions. (via @hawkwing_lb)

I came across this on my own side excursions from something or other. Now this is a hotel that I’d love to stay in.

Just for fun

GIFset: Joan Jett rocks.

I am so not coordinated enough for this sort of thing. This Guy On The Treadmill Will Have You Cheering For More  (via @mcahogarth)

it is called God Almighty’s cow, I presume, from the respect which is shewn it (via Ursula Vernon @UrsulaV)

A wee bit o’green for St. Patrick’s Day!

Japanese fast food industry update: shit just got real

My cat fell asleep in my salad. (via @fozmeadows)

And really, what more is there to say?

