From the World Pool: February 5, 2016

The “just for fun” edition.

For various reasons I haven’t been making “from the world pool” posts, but this week I decided to try to get back into it. And I decided to make it all things that cheered me up, because we all need cheering up sometimes.

Kindness!

Japan Keeps This Train Station Running for Just One Regular Passenger. (Obligatory snark: nice to see some governments take transportation seriously.)

Design!

Book design: Gibbon’s Decline and Fall.

Nature!

Rare Cold Weather Phenomenon Displays Mesmerizing Light Pillars in the Sky. This is something I’ve never heard of, and boy is it cool.

If you ever wondered what happened to the dinosaurs, look no further than baby blue herons.

A wolf named Romeo.

1.5 billion pixel of the Andromeda Galaxy: this is… amazing. Zoom in.

I am in love with Jacanas.  I mean, LOOK AT THE SIZE OF THE FEET.

Swimming with elephants and sharks: the photography of Ali Bin Thalith.

And they say animals have no sense of humour.

Music!

Choir! Choir! Choir! A tribute to David Bowie: singing Space Oddity at the AGO.

I wish I was a lot younger, so I could do this. I might not choose to do it, but I would love to be ABLE to.

Beatbox Siri.

If you like science fiction… Starships! —a fanvid tribute to sf tv and movies. (Bonus points for dancing.)  (R for language, if you’re concerned about it.)

Comments are closed.

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

