Well, hello there.

long-tailed salamander in gravel

So today I was getting some of last year’s leaf litter off the gravel paths in the veggie garden. I lifted up the first lump, and my eyes said, “Anomoly!” because of course gravel paths don’t usually have yellow stripes. So I put the leaf litter back and ran off and got my camera.

long-tailed salamander on hand

Here’s one with my hand, for scale.

DSC_0143-long-toed-salamander

And this is the best one I got of the little guy. It’s a Long-toed Salamander, Ambystoma macrodactylum. I’ve never seen one of these before; apparently they’re quite secretive, hanging out near ponds in breeding season (April and May). So maybe we’ll be lucky and have more of them!

I love our yard.

One thought on “Well, hello there.

  1. What a great find! I followed the link on the salamander – it is cool that they can regenerate body parts and can glue their predators to the ground, or poison them. Yikes! Did you report your find to BC Frogwatch?

Comments are closed.

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

