Goldenrod crab spider

goldenrod crab spider, misumena vatia, on white tarp

When I was taking down the tarp from the deck party yesterday I found this little spider; she’s a lovely white colour just tinged with the faintest green. She’s a goldenrod crab spider (Misumena vatia).

goldenrod crab spider, misumena vatia, on white tarp

They’re hunters who lurk in flowers and then grab their prey with the two oversized front legs. And they can change colour, at least between white and yellow, how cool is that? What she was doing on the tarp I can’t imagine, unless she just liked the whiteness of it.

DSC_0965 goldenrod crab spider.
I think I might be a little too big for you to grab, sweetie.

 

4 thoughts on “Goldenrod crab spider

  1. A few of these have come into our house on flowers for bouquets. These are stunning photographs Nola.

Comments are closed.

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

