eclipse

Top image, because I can’t get the caption to show:

This is peak British Columbia: in an almost clear sky, the one tiny bit of cloud obscures the sun as it approaches maximum occlusion. (Photo of a pinhole projection.)

The eclipse in BC was only going to be 90% or so, but since this is still a rare event, I got organized to watch it. Well, not that organized; I didn’t acquire any special glasses to watch it directly. But I did make a viewing box, a pinhole camera without the photographic paper.

IMG_7625-viewing-box-756

Then I decide to try to take pictures to document the whole thing, but as I didn’t have any special camera filters, that meant taking pictures of what the pinhole camera showed. The results were iffy; neither my iPhone nor my DSLR were particularly good at getting the focus right, and on top of that it’s hard to hold a camera and a viewing box and see what you’re doing and keep the viewing hole more or less blocked and the pinhole projection in the right place. This was the best I managed, and it’s pretty awful.

IMG_7611-eclipse-756

So I turned my attention to the eclipse’s effects on ambient light.

This is the light in our yard when the eclipse was about halfway, taken with a shutter speed of 160.

DSC_4736-darkness-beginning-shutter-160-756

This is the same shutter speed, taken closer to the maximum eclipse. It’s significantly darker.

DSC_4752-darker-160-756

The sky definitely does not look like a sky normally looks at 10:30 in the morning.

DSC_4759-darker-sky-756

It’s odd, in some ways it didn’t feel significantly darker, given that 90% of the sun was covered—but then you realize the difference it makes to the shadows.

DSC_4740-dark-shadows-756

These were also taken at shutter speed 160, at earlier and then later stages.

DSC_4767-dark-shadows-160-756

Oh, look.

DSC_4755-sun-with-sunspot-756

The crispest image that I got of the eclipse is in a sunspot caused by shooting into the sun! Well, damn.

2 thoughts on “eclipse

  1. Pretty cool pics. Specially the last one. We were driving on Hwy 1 near Manning Park and we stopped. We had nothing with which to look at the sun and it just seemed that the light was strange. Glad to see your photos.

Comments are closed.

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

